Kleeb Versus The Pothole

Broken Ankle Summer in New York

Before I even unpacked my bags from my wonderful west coast vacation to Portland and San Francisco (videos coming soon), I found out the hard way why Brooklyn is in desperate need for some infrastructure repair. Walking down the sidewalk in Park Slope, my ankle met with an unlucky turn in a pothole, and I’ll be immobile for 6-8 weeks.

Of course, being cooped up at Death By Audio isn’t so bad. Despite the cabin fever, I can still play drums, work on circuitry, and even pick up some shifts in the show space. Ironically, my intended destination before this accident was NYC Resistors, where I intended to work on some Arduino and Max/MSP projects with my newly constructed mobile circuit rig:


Mounting a breadboard, power supply, amplifier, Arduino, and hookup jacks to this box now makes it possible for me to move my entire project down to the workshop in Park Slope. Of course, it will be mid-July before I’ll attempt this trip again.

How can I carry this huge rig easily? Luckily, my friend Mike in Philly makes good quality hand-made messenger bags and backpacks. During my trip, he dropped off a Norman Porter bag at DBA, and it can hold this box plus a laptop and still have extra room.

Norman Porter Messenger Bag Company

So I’ve been hanging around the house, playing drums, learning Max/MSP, editing my vacation videos, and trying to find some work at the venue or elsewhere.

I managed to make it up to NYCeWheels on my crutches, and came out with a pretty sweet electric bike. Although probably a bit dangerous, at least I can get out of the house once in a while. Just strap crutches to my back and I’m good to go.

Mark rides an electric bike to work

Freak show on wheels

One week down, five more to go. Hopefully I can use this time to be productive. Probably going to start posting regular updates, so check back. This blog is back in action.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment